Ilya Itin – Piano

itin-profile

Thu, 2. Apr. 2020 - 8:00 pm,
Jesus-Christus-Kirche, Berlin Dahlem
Piano Recital

Ilya Itin – Piano

 

CLAUDE DEBUSSY
Clair de Lune”, from Suite Bergamasque (No. 3)

CLAUDE DEBUSSY
Préludes. Book II

CLAUDE DEBUSSY
Deux Arabesques

CLAUDE DEBUSSY
Préludes, Book I

A FEW QUESTIONS

1. What is your idea of perfect happiness? Being in tune with oneself

2. if you could time travel, where (rather “when”) would you like to go? The beginning: want to see how it all started.

3. What is your definition of love? Eternal engine

4. What have been the greatest challenges for you ? Everything becomes a challenge and a reward when done with utmost dedication.

5. Name a poet, author, painter and composer that you especially like? Vladimir Nabokov

6. If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be? An invisible particle

7. Which composer or artist of the past would you like to invite for dinner? No dinner invitations

8. What is your most treasured possession? I don’t value my possessions

9. What piece changed your life? First tune I ever heard .

10. What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery? Being out of tune with oneself

11. Who are your heroes in real life? “One shall not make for oneself an idol“ or a hero

12. What is your motto? Live and let others live

BIOGRAPHY

“Itin’s is a rare and exciting artistry indeed…poised, pure, and ravishing in its range of colour, Itin’s playing is a prime example of a superb technique put at the service of an inquiring and imaginative mind.” (Daily Telegraph, London)

Audiences throughout the world revere Ilya Itin’s unique artistry. Playing to sold out houses in Japan, Europe and the US, he is sought out by fellow pianists and audiences alike for his extraordinary range, power, quality of sound and command of the piano. His performances continue to be singled out by the press in his solo recitals: “top 10 musical moment of the year” the Philadelphia Inquirer, and the NYT  “…a brilliantly insightful pianist who offered a superb recital “.   Since capturing the Gold Medal, BBC Audience Award, and Contemporary Music Prize at the 1996 Leeds International Piano Competition, Ilya Itin has performed throughout the world bringing his powerful musical imagination and mastery to wide ranging repertoire. “I’d go to hear him play the phonebook,” remarked BBC TV critic Ian Burnside.

Ilya Itin has performed with many of the world’s great conductors, including Sir Simon Rattle, Neemi Jarvi, Christoph von Dohnanyi, Yakov Kreizberg, Vassily Sinaisky, Valery Polyansky, and Mikhail Pletnev performing as soloist with orchestras, including the Cleveland Orchestra, the St. Petersburg Philharmonic, the Tokyo Symphony, the National Symphony, the London Philharmonic, the China National Symphony, the Symphony Orchestra of India; the Mexico City Philharmonic; and the Rochester Philharmonic.

Much lauded for his chamber music collaborations with colleagues and friends in the US, Europe and Asia, he performs regularly in New York with the Jupiter Chamber Players, in Santa Monica, California and throughout Japan with distinguished string players in quartets, trios, and duo concerts.  He has made numerous recordings of chamber music, including Beethoven’s “Spring” Sonata, Brahms Viola Sonata, Martinu Double Violin Sonata, and Piazzola Spring/Autumn in Buenos Aires, with Igor and Vesna Gruppmann, violins and a full recital with legendary violinist Ida Haendel .

In 2020 he will be releasing his newest recording of the complete Debussy Preludes on vinyl and high definition audio, a performance that elicited the comment: “I don’t think I shall hear a greater performance of Debussy in my life.” ~ Zsolt Bognar.  His Princeton recital of Rachmaninov and Scriabin will be released as a live recording this year. Itin has an archive of special projects including a “Russian Marathon” at the Miami International Piano Festival in which he performed and recorded, in one day, the 24 Preludes of Rachmaninov, Prokofiev’s 7th and 8th Piano Sonatas and a post-performance interview about the experience. Other recordings include Beethoven’s 2nd Piano Concerto with the Jerusalem Camerata on the JDR label, and Prokofiev’s 6th Sonata  Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition on VAI.

Born in Yekaterinburg, Russia, his piano studies began at the Sverdlovsk School for the Gifted with Natalia Litvinova. He went on to graduate from the Moscow Conservatory with the highest honors in 1990 working with legendary teacher Lev Naumov. In 1990, Mr. Itin was awarded second place at the Rachmaninov Competition in Moscow. Soon after, he won top honors in the William Kapell Competition, followed by First Prize, and the Special Chopin Prize at the Casadesus Competition (Cleveland Competition), and received awards of Best Performance of a Work of Mozart, Best Prokofiev Performance, and Third Prize at the Gina Bachauer Competition as he came down with a severe case of the chicken pox.

Itin’s current concert seasons have included performances at the London Piano Festival, the Miami International Piano Festival, solo recitals in Turkey, Mexico, Italy, Russia, and a solo tour of Asia in Tokyo, Sapporo, Nara, Osaka, Nagoya, Kagoshima, and Shanghai and duo recitals in Rotterdam, and with orchestra in Romania, Spring 2020. In September 2019, he appeared as featured artist on the award-winning video series “Living the Classical Life”.

Itin continues to balance his performing and teaching career with appointments on the piano faculties of the Musashino Academy, Tokyo, the Academy of the Miami International Piano Festival, the Golandsky Institute at Princeton University, and in master classes in Turkey, Princeton, Miami, Toronto, Russia, New York, and throughout Japan. His students include winners of top international competitions, conservatory concerto competitions and special awards at the most competitive piano departments in the US and Japan. Ilya Itin resides in New York and Tokyo.

www.ilyaitin.squarespace.com

Ilya Itin – Piano

itin-profile

Do, 2. Apr. 2020 - 20:00 Uhr,
Jesus-Christus-Kirche, Berlin Dahlem
Klavierabend

Ilya Itin – Klavier

 

CLAUDE DEBUSSY
Clair de Lune”, von Suite Bergamasque (No. 3)

CLAUDE DEBUSSY
Préludes II

CLAUDE DEBUSSY
Deux Arabesques

CLAUDE DEBUSSY
Préludes I

A FEW QUESTIONS

1. Was ist deine Vorstellung von vollkommenem Glück ?
Im Einklang mit sich selbst zu sein
2. Wenn du mit der Zeit reisen könntest, wohin und wann würdest du gerne gehen ?
Der Anfang: Ich möchte sehen, wie alles begann
3. Was ist deine Definition von Liebe ?
Ewiger Motor
4. Was waren für dich die größten Herausforderungen ?
Alles wird zu einer Herausforderung und zu einer Belohnung, wenn es mit größter Hingabe erledigt wird
5. Nenne einen Dichter, Autor, Maler und Komponisten, den du besonders magst
Vladimir Nabokov
6. Wenn du sterben würdest und als Person oder Ding zurückkommen könntest, was wäre das ?
Ein unsichtbares Teilchen
7. Welchen Komponisten oder Künstler der Vergangenheit möchtest du zum Abendessen einladen ?
Keine Einladungen zum Abendessen
8. Was ist dein wertvollster Besitz ?
Ich schätze meinen Besitz nicht
9. Welches Stück hat dein Leben verändert ?
Die erste Melodie, die ich jemals gehört habe
10. Was ist deiner Meinung nach die niedrigste Tiefe des Elends?
Mit sich selbst nicht im Einklang zu sein
11. Wer sind deine Helden im wirklichen Leben ?
„Man soll sich nicht zum Idol machen“ oder zum Helden
12. Was ist dein Motto ?
Leben und leben lassen

BIOGRAFIE

„Itin beherrscht wirklich eine seltene und aufregende Kunstfertigkeit … ausgeglichen, rein und hinreißend in seiner Farbpalette. Er ist ein erstklassiges Beispiel für eine hervorragende Technik, die einem fragenden und einfallsreichen Geist zur Verfügung steht“ (Daily Telegraph, London)

Zuschauer auf der ganzen Welt verehren die einzigartige Kunstfertigkeit von Ilya Itin. Er spielt in ausverkauften Häusern in Japan, Europa und den USA und wird von anderen Pianisten und dem Publikum gleichermaßen wegen seiner außergewöhnlichen Reichweite, Kraft, Klangqualität und Beherrschung des Klaviers gesucht. Seine Auftritte werden weiterhin von der Presse in seinen Solokonzerten hervorgehoben. „Top 10 der musikalischen Momente des Jahres“ – der Philadelphia Inquirer, und die NYT „ … ein brillant einfühlsamer Pianist, der einen hervorragenden Klavierabend bot “

Seit er beim Internationalen Klavierwettbewerb in Leeds 1996 die Goldmedaille, den BBC Publikumspreis und den Preis für zeitgenössische Musik gewonnen hat, ist Ilya Itin auf der ganzen Welt aufgetreten und bringt seine kraftvolle musikalische Vorstellungskraft und Meisterschaft in ein weites Repertoire ein. „Ich würde kommen und ihm zuhören, wenn er das Telefonbuch spielt“ bemerkte der BBC-Fernsehkritiker Ian Burnside.

Ilya Itin trat als Solist mit vielen der weltbesten Dirigenten auf, darunter Sir Simon Rattle, Neeme Järvi, Christoph von Dohnanyi, Yakov Kreizberg, Wassily Sinaisky, Valery Polyansky und Mikhail Pletnev, mit Orchestern wie dem Cleveland Orchestra, dem Sankt Petersburger Philharmonic Orchestra, der Tokyo Symphony, der National Symphony, dem London Philharmonic, der China National Symphony, dem Symphony Orchestra of India, dem Mexico City Philharmonic und dem Rochester Philharmonic.

Er erntet viel Lob für seine kammermusikalische Zusammenarbeit mit Kollegen und Freunden in den USA, Europa und Asien und tritt regelmäßig in New York mit den Jupiter Chamber Players, in Santa Monica, Kalifornien, und in ganz Japan mit mit angesehenen Streichern in Quartetten, Trios und Duos auf. Er hat zahlreiche Kammermusik-Aufnahmen gemacht, darunter Beethovens „Frühlings“-Sonate, Brahms‘ Bratschensonate, die Doppelviolinsonate von Martinu und Piazzolas Spring/Autumn in Buenos Aires mit Igor und Vesna Gruppmann (Violinen) und  einem kompletten Rezital mit der legendären Geigerin Ida Haendel.

2020 wird er seine neueste Aufnahme der kompletten Debussy-Präludien auf Vinyl und High-Definition Audio veröffentlichen, eine Aufführung, die den Kommentar auslöste:  „Ich glaube nicht, dass ich in meinem Leben eine bessere Aufführung von Debussy hören werde“ – Zsolt Bognar. Sein Rezital von Rachmaninov und Scriabin wird in diesem Jahr als Live-Aufnahme veröffentlicht. Itin hat ein Archiv von Spezialprojekten, darunter einen „Russischen Marathon“ beim Miami International Piano Festival, bei dem er an einem Tag die 24 Präludien von Rachmaninov, Prokofjews 7. Und 8. Klaviersonate spielte und aufnahm, und im Anschluss daran ein Interview gab, in dem er  über diese Erfahrung berichtete. Weitere Aufnahmen sind Beethovens 2. Klavierkonzert mit der Jerusalemer Camerata auf dem JDR-Label und Prokofjews 6. Sonate sowie Mussorgskys Bilder einer Ausstellung auf VAL.

Geboren in Jekaterinburg, begann er sein Klavierstudium an der Svwerdlowsker Schule für Begabte bei Natalia Litvinova. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem legendären Lehrer Lev Naumov schloss er 1990 sein Studium am Moskauer Konservatorium mit der höchsten Auszeichnung ab. 1990 wurde Itin beim Rachmaninov-Wettbewerb in Moskau mit dem zweiten Platz ausgezeichnet. Bald darauf gewann er beim William-Kapell-Wettbewerb die höchsten Auszeichnungen, gefolgt vom Ersten Preis und dem Sonderpreis für Chopin beim Casadesus-Wettbewerb (Cleveland-Wettbewerb), und erhielt Auszeichnungen für die beste Aufführung eines Werkes von Mozart, die beste Aufführung von Prokofjew und den dritten Preis beim Gina-Bachauer-Wettbewerb, als er an einem schweren Fall von Windpocken erkrankt war.

Zu den aktuellen Konzertsaisonen von Itin gehörten Auftritte beim London Piano Festival, beim Miami International Piano Festival, Soloabende in der Türkei, Mexiko, Italien, Russland und eine Solo-Tournee durch Asien in Tokio, Sapporo, Nara, Osaka, Nagoya, Kagoshima und Shanghai, sowie Duo-Konzerte in Rotterdam und mit Orchester in Rumänien im Frühjahr 2020. Im September 2019 trat er als Hauptkünstler  in der preisgekrönten Video-Reihe „Living the Classical Life“ auf.

Itin teilt seine Karriere weiterhin als Pianist und Dozent mit Ernennungen an den Klavierfakultäten der Musashino Academy in Tokio, der Akademie des Miami International Piano Festival, dem Golandsky Institute  an der Princeton University,  und in Meisterklassen in der Türkei, in Princeton, Miami, Toronto, Russland, New York  und ganz Japan. Unter seinen Studenten findet man Gewinner von Top internationalen Wettbewerben, Konzertwettbewerben an Konservatorien und Spezialpreisen an den berühmtesten Klavierabteilungen in den US und in Japan. Ilya Itin lebt in New York und Tokio.